1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other How to evaluate the impact of my work anywhere to submit it?

1. Oct 29, 2017 #1
    Greetings all,

I am an undergrad working on my first first-author paper in theoretical / computational condensed matter physics (near the computational materials science end of the spectrum) and I am looking to getting it published. My advisor has published in many journals, from mid to high end journals in condensed matter physics.

A brief summary of my work: a certain compound was proposed in the bulk with DFT in 2015; in 2017 it was proposed as a 2D material with DFT... no further studies have been published on it and only theoretical electronic properties are 'known'.

Interested in this material, I re-did it from scratch, in the bulk and as a 2D material but instead of using DFT, I used EHT (Extende Huckel Tight-Bingind). Everything is O.K. so far. I also studied magnetic properties in bulk and 2D and the electronic properties (or changes in) from 2D-to-bulk transitions. The material is yet to be synthesized.

I know I am not proposing a new material, and I know that DFT is usually considered as BETTER than EHT, but I also know that it's worth getting out there. My advisor told me to start looking for a prospective journal, and suggested this as an option:

Journal of Superconductivity and Novel Magnetism: (Springer)http://www.springer.com/physics/condensed+matter+physics/journal/10948

I have also been looking at this one,

Computational Condensed Matter: (Elsevier)
    https://www.journals.elsevier.com/computational-condensed-matter

Although, I know that I would love to publish here... but it scares the @#^% out of me to even consider it...

Physical Review Materials: (APS)
    https://journals.aps.org/prmaterials/