Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to interpret multi-power laws regimes

1. Feb 6, 2009 #1
    Hello everyone
    I’m a linguistic student and want to interpret multi-power law regimes since my data has four regimes e.g. what do the regimes mean in respect to the entity represented on the x-axis when the y-axis is cumulative distribution? Any pointers to good papers, books would be really appreciated.
    Thanks in advance
    Julie

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2009 #2
    Well i started looking around for something specific...
    then i typed this
    "multi-power law regimes answer"
    into yahoo search and there are 6 pdf's on the front page.

this one is pretty neat:
    http://math.ucsd.edu/~fan/power.pdf" [Broken]

I see you're a linguistics student so, you know... reading the top third will give you a good idea of what they're saying. I didn't look at the other pdf's so, there may be a better one for what you need right on page 1.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Feb 10, 2009 #3
    Dear Netometry,
    Apologies for not responding sooner - had internet problems. Thanks so much for finding these papers. I have tried lots of googling but no luck. Probably the keywords were too specific like you said.
    But cheers for this - much appreciated.
    All the best
    Julie

5. Feb 11, 2009 #4
    :smile:You're welcome,
    I learned a lot through searching. I'm much better at searching yahoo than i am at math.

6. Feb 12, 2009 #5
    :) I like being a cyber sherlock...do you find yahoo is a better search engine than google generally?

7. Feb 12, 2009 #6
    I just got your name! That's a coool word. I'm sooo slooow :)

8. Feb 12, 2009 #7
    :)
    Well, i like gigabast.com and yahoo for pdf's
    Google, i use for research mostly. but, i do like their returns when i'm on the front page :)