Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to measure whether a smartphone is inside a 5 meter range?

1. Jan 11, 2017 #1
    Hi there,

As currently work for company that builds mobile apps I am looking into a way to measure whether a smartphone is outside a 5 meter range. As I am not an engineer I hope your expertise can help me out in order to come up with a right direction for further research. NFC, RFID, GPS, orthogonal coils, wifi ? I don't know where to begin :)

Considerations:
    - Solution should be affordable (B2C) and scalable
    - 5 meter ranges should also be accurately determined through 1 or 2 normal size walls
    - Sender and receiver could be anything

Application:
    This solution will be used for a client that want to use people's smartphones to automatically block scooter usage. I know smart car keys do something similar, can we use this technology in a phone?

Hope this is something you guys can have a thought about!? Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Jan 11, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2017 #2

anorlunda

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF.

Google "smartphone proximity sensor". Most of them use IR light which won't work through walls. But some are ultrasonic.

Here is one that sounds close to your goal
    http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/auto-locking-office-door-smartphone-proximity-sensor/

By the way, I would want it to unlock my scooter only if there were no walls in the way. You don't want someone stealing the scooter when while you sit inside.

4. Jan 11, 2017 #3

BvU

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Life is getting more complicated: crooks now get scooters for free when they steal your phone...

5. Jan 11, 2017 #4

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member