Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to post molecular structures nicely?

1. Jul 5, 2013 #1
    Can we write nice molecular structures in here? I've never tried. For example, caffeine. What is the best way to post the structure of caffeine? Do I have to make a jpeg and just post the file?

Thanks,
    Jack

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 7, 2013 #2

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

4. Jul 7, 2013 #3
    But that ain't good enough. How do I do it in LaTex? Suppose I wish to prepare a report dealing with sort of lots of relatively complex compounds and all in LaTex? Surely there is a way to make a nice presentation in LaTex right? I'll look into it too. Suppose I should check more in the Chemistry forum to see how it's done in here. I don't mind starting from scratch for this since I've never written a chemistry paper in LaTex before.

Attached Files:

5. Jul 8, 2013 #4

chemisttree

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

6. Jul 9, 2013 #5
    Hi,

May I then ask if it is possible to implement the chemfig package in PF? It would be a classy addition that the other forums do not have. This is a nice package I've used to create first-class structures and it's very simple to use. For example, this is the command for caffeine:

\chemname{\chemfig[][scale=0.5]{[:30]O=C*6(-N(-CH_3)-C*5(-N=C-N(-CH_3)-)=C-C(=O)=N(-CH_3)-)}}{Caffeine.}

and it generates what I think is a journal-quality image of the molecule.

7. Jul 9, 2013 #6
    Thanks for the suggestion. We do not use LaTeX here however. We use MathJax. MathJax does have a basic chemistry extension, but since it does create overhead, we won't add it unless there is significant support.

8. Jul 10, 2013 #7

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

Does it create overhead just by installation, or only if it gets included in the page?