Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How would I know if my integrand is odd?

1. Jul 21, 2013 #1
    So, I'm studying normalization (Quantum Mechanics). I came across examples of integrands which they say are odd. So, they say the integral of an odd function is zero. How would I know my integrand is odd? Thanks :)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 21, 2013 #2
    Replace [itex]x\rightarrow -x[/itex]. If the integrand transforms [itex]f(x)\rightarrow f(-x)=-f(x)[/itex] then it is odd.

4. Jul 21, 2013 #3
    Why is the integral of an odd function ZERO?

5. Jul 21, 2013 #4

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Take the definite integral of sin(x) w.r.t. x between 0 and 2*pi. (Or between -pi and pi). What is its value?
    Plot sin(x) between 0 and 2*pi (or between -pi and pi). What do you notice about the plot?

6. Jul 21, 2013 #5
    How would you take the derivative of this?

[itex]\int^{∞}_{0} e ^{\frac{-2amx^2}{\hbar}}[/itex]

What's the trick in doing integrals having infinity as one of its limit? Or what if the limit is from ∞ to -∞?

Last edited: Jul 21, 2013
  7. Jul 21, 2013 #6
    The derivative of an even function is odd and the derivative of an odd function is even (a simple proof, just use the definition). So, if you have an odd integrand [itex]f(-x)=-f(x)[/itex], then for [itex]F(x)[/itex] such that [itex]F'(x)=f(x)[/itex] [itex]F(-x)=F(x)[/itex] and so

[tex]\int_{-a}^{a} f(x) \mathrm{d}x = F(a) - F(-a) = F(a) - F(a) = 0[/tex]

which is what is usually used when an integral over a symmetric interval is said to be zero because the integrand is odd.

8. Jul 21, 2013 #7

CompuChip

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The key in Deldeals post that has been ignored until now: it works only if the integration interval is symmetric. In QM it usually is, by convenient choice of x = 0, but in general it is something you should check.