Hyperbolic geometry - relations between lines, curves, and hyperbolas

In summary, the individual is seeking help understanding the relationship between Euclidean and hyperbolic geometry, particularly in terms of transformations and models. They are also curious about how a specific function would be represented in non-Euclidean coordinates. They apologize for any errors in their understanding and are eager to learn from experts on the subject.
Reuel
Hi.

I studied calculus a while back but am far from a math god. I have been reading around online about hyperbolic geometry in my spare time and had a simple question about the topic.

If a straight line in Euclidean geometry is a hyperbola in the hyperbolic plane (do I have that right?) then what is the "transformation" from one to the other? For example, the line y=x in the Cartesian coordinate system would be what in the hyperbolic plane? That is, what hyperbola corresponds to y=x? Can the two be related?

The ultimate reason I am interested in knowing specifically how to go from one to the other is because I am curious as to how the hyperbolic rational expression of the form

[itex]f(x)=\frac{ax}{b+cx}[/itex]​

would be expressed in non-Euclidean terms and what straight line in Euclidean geometry would lead to such a hyperbola in non-Euclidean geometry.

If any of that is nonsense, I apologize. I don't know much about the subject but am willing to learn.

Thank you for your help.

Physics news on Phys.org