Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hyperbolic geometry - relations between lines, curves, and hyperbolas

1. Dec 3, 2013 #1
    Hi.

I studied calculus a while back but am far from a math god. I have been reading around online about hyperbolic geometry in my spare time and had a simple question about the topic.

If a straight line in Euclidean geometry is a hyperbola in the hyperbolic plane (do I have that right?) then what is the "transformation" from one to the other? For example, the line y=x in the Cartesian coordinate system would be what in the hyperbolic plane? That is, what hyperbola corresponds to y=x? Can the two be related?

The ultimate reason I am interested in knowing specifically how to go from one to the other is because I am curious as to how the hyperbolic rational expression of the form

[itex]f(x)=\frac{ax}{b+cx}[/itex]​

would be expressed in non-Euclidean terms and what straight line in Euclidean geometry would lead to such a hyperbola in non-Euclidean geometry.

If any of that is nonsense, I apologize. I don't know much about the subject but am willing to learn.

Thank you for your help.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 4, 2013 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor