I am Looking for an Astronomy undergrad program at 50

In summary, the speaker discusses their background as a Physics and Math undergrad who left university in 1996 to work as a C programmer due to family responsibilities. They have since earned a BA in Economics and are currently pursuing a masters in Cyber Security. However, they no longer need to work and are considering going back to university to study Astronomy or Physics. They have a budget of 20k USD for tuition and living expenses and are looking for programs in Europe or Asia that accept non-traditional students. They have had trouble finding suitable programs through Google searches and are seeking suggestions.
brady maxwell
Hello, this crisis has given me a new perspective. I was a Physics and Math undergrad in 1996 when i left uni to work as a C programmer. A mistake i have regretted often, but i had small kids and a wife that needed to eat.

I have since earned a BA in Economics and am writing a masters thesis in Cyber Security. However after a 24 year career in IT i really do not need to work anymore and have enough money to survive without work income. I would like to go back to university and study Astronomy or Physics.

After doing all the math I can comfortable consume 2000 usd a month from my savings and commit about 20k to the cost of study. So i am looking for universities that have Astronomy or Physics programs in English, preferably in Europe, or Asia, where i can live on 2k usd per month and tuition for the full Bachelor's degree is less than 20k USD.

The school would also have to accept non traditional students as I am closing in on 50 as i write this. I would appreciate suggestions, there are so many false leads in a google search that i have given up on that method of discovery, and many of the google-able programs do not respond to email inquiries.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org