1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am thinking of switching from a Physics BS to a Math BS

1. Mar 16, 2015 #1
    Hey guys! I am a new member who would love some feedback on a big decision I am making soon. I am a senior in college who is pursuing two degrees (one in History and one in Physics). I am in my second semester of my Physics degree and I am just not doing well (Fs on exams). I really enjoy the subject, but being able to set up the problems just isn't clicking for me (I am currently in E&M and it is not making any sense to me whatsoever). Now having said all of that, I am loving my Math courses. I am currently in Multivariate Calculus and I am doing well in that course. My concern is that my GPA will keep tanking if I stay with Physics, but since I seem to enjoy math more and am doing well I would like to switch to a degree in Mathematical Statistics. There are many different factors that require me to have a GPA above a 3.0 and if I stay with physics, I just won't be able to maintain it. Any advice on how difficult a math stats degree is compared to a physics degree? I feel like the extra step of having to recognize how to set up physics problems to do the math is what is killing me. Thanks for helping me out! :)

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 16, 2015 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

How is that possible? Were you planning on staying in college for six years (or more) total?

4. Mar 16, 2015 #3
    I had a ton of credit going into school. I am only in my 3rd year right now and the math degree would only add another 2 and a half years. I have scholarships for the first 4 years, so I am able to stretch it out a little bit.

5. Mar 18, 2015 #4