Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I the beginner have some general question

1. Nov 5, 2012 #1
    Keep in mind while reading all peaple who wish to learn must start somewhere i feel like a critique from peaple who know what there talking about might help feel free to tell me how wrong i am becouse i asume i am very wrong indeed

i am just starting out in my very very very minuet view and ideas on quantum physics i was wondering as far as graphing goes i understand how to graph a one dimentional figure as well as a two dimentional and a three you simply add an axis ( I.E third dimentional Z axis) so theoreticly could you graph a 5 diimentional figure even without the understanding of what a 5th dimentional figure would look like.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2012 #2
  4. Nov 5, 2012 #3

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

welcome to pf!

hi pureinterest! welcome to pf! :smile:
    not really

any extra axis has to be perpendicular to all the others, and there's no way of representing that

but if the graph is of a body or field with a symmetry, then we can "suppress" the dimension which has the symmetry without losing much information …

for example, we often assume that a black hole is spherically symmetric, which enables us to represent its 4D space-time geometry with a 2D graph

5. Nov 5, 2012 #4
    that makes much more sense thank you

6. Nov 5, 2012 #5
    your looking at this too closed minded just because its only a pure math problem doesn't mean that it has no value to physics for instance E=MC^2 is only a math equation but what it stands for is where the meaning is

7. Nov 5, 2012 #6