1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I think I just flunked the in-class portion of my complex variables

1. Oct 18, 2007 #1
    I think I just flunked out on the in-class portion of my complex variables midterm. I have a take home exam to work on over the weekend, and it's not going to be easy. I studied for days for this midterm, the prof said it would be on "proofs" so I learned every proof in the book. But, I wish I'd just focused on the examples since most of the questions were drawn from them.

There were 5 questions. I know I did two correctly maybe partial credit on a 3rd. I feel really overwhelmed and like giving up right now. I've never done this poorly on a math exam before. Especially if I bothered to study.

It was just about remembering things, one of the questions involved a gradient and I've always been sketchy on those, it was the first time I'd seen one in this course, but it was in an example in the book. I tried to remember what I could, but I simply had nor focused on the examples for at least a week.

The thing is, I <i>felt</i> like I really knew the material I studied, backwards and forwards.

I went to see the prof. and told him I thought I only did two correctly and he was like "stop looking so panicked" and "did you get your grad school application in on time?" --I don't even know if I can do grad school If I'm bombing out on test like this. I just want to die die die die. (not really, but almost...)

Now I need to work on this take-home exam. I wish the pressure would let up for just a day. At least the problem in it seems interesting.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2007 #2
    its just one test... :confused:

4. Oct 18, 2007 #3

TMM

Like ice said, it's just one test.