1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I want to go for a Msc in Astrophysics but dont have the sufficient skills

1. Jun 14, 2012 #1
    Hello everyone. I have a challenge that has been bothering me and i would welcome any advice i can get right now. I have a BSc in Industrial Physics with applied Geophysics option. The problem is i dont know have a full knowledge of university physics and mathematics...am not even sure of my calculus but i love astronomy...it had always been my dream to be an astrophysicist....but i dont have the sufficient knowledge of university maths or physics to even attempt the physics GRE. the reason is that my foundations where not treated properly...in first year and i just had to cram my way through just for the grades (and i took some courses for granted) so i have scrappy knowledge of everything.

Right now i am doing Matrices in Linear algebra...i dont know complex variables...i dont know differential equations, i have a scrappy knowledge in calculus...i dont know taylor series...fourier series...and all the advanced maths course from 2nd year up. As for physics..i dont know classical mechanics...i have a little knowledge of quantum...and absolutely nothing on Electrodynamics.

So the question is can i still cover all these before the next graduate school entrance year and how long does it take to cover all these...should i start all over again as an undergraduate...or should i just forget about being an astrophysicist. i really love astrophysics...i read any publications i can get my hands on the latest in the subject..but i dont have the knowledge to understand them. So pls, is it too late for me???..

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 14, 2012 #2

fluidistic

Gold Member

Hi.