Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

If we consider the universe as bounded but infinite

1. May 6, 2015 #1

Atlas3

Gold Member

Would someone like to have a conversation with me about the bounds of the universe and energy? I have a few ideas rambling around.. When I say bounds I mean the expanding bubble. But I would like to discuss infinite matter and infinite energy big crunch possibility. I'm a beginner with BIG thoughts.

2. jcsd
  3. May 6, 2015 #2

wabbit

Gold Member

I'm afraid you won't find that here, have you had a chance to look at the forum rules ?

4. May 6, 2015 #3

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

That's too broad as it stands for a PF thread. Can you pick one specific thing you have a question about?

5. May 6, 2015 #4

Atlas3

Gold Member

6. May 6, 2015 #5

Atlas3

Gold Member

I am trying to navigate and I'll find the guidelines. Thank you. If you are a moderator you can delete or close this thread. Thank you

7. May 6, 2015 #6

wabbit

Gold Member

8. May 6, 2015 #7

Atlas3

Gold Member

9. May 6, 2015 #8

wabbit

Gold Member

There's no proof that it is, we don't know. What is bounded is the mass in the observable universe, but I'm stuck for a proof here. I would say because we know (or at least we have good evidence that) the observable universe has a finite volume (there's a limit to how far we can see), and finite volumes can contain only a finite number of particles.

10. May 6, 2015 #9

PeterDonis

2016 Award

Yes, exactly.

11. May 6, 2015 #10

Atlas3

Gold Member

There does not seem to be a limit on how many particles there are? Exactly that there is no distance between them and an infinite number of them. I could call them Dark Particles.

12. May 6, 2015 #11

PeterDonis

2016 Award