Image Charges and a hollow conducting sphere

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of image charges in electrostatics, specifically in the case of a point charge q located some distance d from the center of a hollow, conducting sphere of radius a. The solution involves finding the magnitude and position of the image charge q' induced on the sphere, which can be determined by setting the potential at the boundary to q'/4∏ε0a. However, the method of images is typically used for a charge outside the sphere, not inside it.
raving_lunatic

Homework Statement

Hi! Bear in mind, before shooting me down, that I'm very new to electrostatics and extremely (i.e. today) new to the method of image charges, and all my learning is dodgy book-learning and not learning from asking the learned questions.

This said, I just want my physical logic checking before I make a terrible mistake.

I've just worked out the image system for a point charge q some distance d from the center of an earthed, hollow, conducting sphere of radius a; it consists of a single point charge at some distance b from the center of magnitude q' and I can express these quantities in terms of the sphere's radius and the distance, so I think that's okay.

The second part of the question asks "what's the image system when the sphere is isolated (i.e. not earthed) and initially uncharged?" and then it asks me to find the force on the point charge q, which I can obviously do once I've worked out the magnitude and position of the image charge.

Homework Equations

Coulomb's Law F = q1q2/4∏ε0(r)^2

Potential at the surface of a charged sphere V = q / 4∏ε0(r)

The Attempt at a Solution