1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Independently Learning Mathematics

1. Oct 13, 2013 #1

EOB

I realize it's a very broad statement to say that I'm independently learning mathematics because I am definitely not learning all of mathematics. I am currently studying the calculus and of right now via M. Spivak and have also been consulting R. Courant's Differential and Integral Calculus, vol 1.

I have zero formal education in the calculus or any other higher mathematics for that matter. I am now in my early twenties and beginning a "formal" learning of mathematics on my own. I was planning on finishing at least one of the aforementioned works on the calculus and then finish reading the following works regarding analysis. The books that I have planned on consulting regarding this endeavor are Analysis 1 & 2 by Einar Hille and Foundations of Modern Analysis by Jean Dieudonne (I do have copies of all of the works that are listed in this query.)