Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Integrating both sides of an equation question

1. Feb 16, 2017 #1
    I am studying a paper and a math step like this was used:

[tex]
    dt'=(1+\frac{h}{2}sin^2(\theta))dr \\
    \int^{t1}_t dt'=\int^d_0 (1+\frac{h}{2}sin^2(\theta))dr \\
    where\\
    h=h(t-\frac{r}{c}-\frac{r}{c}cos(\theta))
    [/tex]

This seems wrong because it seems to me that you're not doing the same thing to both sides of the equation. You ought to integrate both sides with respect to t', correct? Is there some change of variables I'm not seeing here? Or in infinitesimal equations like that, can you really just integrate each term with respect to the differential factor's corresponding variable?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 16, 2017 #2

mathman

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No.

What needs to be specified is the relationship between t' and r, so that the corresponding limits on the integrals can be defined.

4. Feb 16, 2017 #3

FactChecker

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The entire right side goes from t to t1, but r only goes from 0 to d. The limits of the right side are the limits of r.
    Consider a simple equation like y=2x.
    dy=2dx.
    01dy = ∫01/22dx

5. Feb 18, 2017 #4