Integrating the topics of forms, manifolds, and algebra

In summary: Why do forms matter?A form is a mathematical device that helps to simplify and/or visualize a problem. They do this by providing a way to relate different quantities in a way that is easier to understand.How do form really help do math on the tangent space?Forms are a way to "see" the structure of a problem. They allow us to think about a problem in a simplified way, and then use that understanding to solve the problem.What is the relationship between forms and vectors?Forms are a way to relate different quantities in a way that is easier to understand. Vectors are just a particular kind of form.Why is it
observer1
Hello,

As you might discern from previous posts, I have been teaching myself:
  1. Calculus on manifolds
  2. Differential forms
  3. Lie Algebra, Group
  4. Push forward, pull back.

I am an engineer approaching this late in life and with a deficient background in math. It is all coming together and I almost see the picture. But it remains discrete topics - not connected with each other and without a direct connection to my deficienies.

This post concerns THE GLUE.

Could someone explain how all these ideas are integrated, in WORDS and with an acknowledgment to a person with deficient math (math learned in a country with a math education a mile wide and an inch deep).

Essentially, IN WORDS (not symbols)...
And YES, these are huge questions, but I am not interested in direct answers to each but in the continuity between the questions -- oh hell, I wish I knew exactly how to say this: my calculus was so bad I practically need someone to say: "In a Lagrangian there are generalized coordinates which become the manifold and there are vectors in the tangent plane (position) and can only be multiplied by co-vectors (velocities) and the purpose of all this is only to see the structure..." Or something like that...

Thus...

Why should I learn calculus on manifolds (ConM)?