Interpreting C pointers, dereferencing and indirection

• Thread starter Basher1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Pointers
In summary, the first statement stores a NULL value into memory location "pt" which is then pointed to by the second statement. The third statement sets "pt" to point to the value "NULL".
Basher1
I have been going through a book on embedded development. I have been followin the C programs in the book with about 95% success as C is not completely new to me. But I am new to pointers so I was hoping someone would kindly clear a few things for me.

#define INPUT (*((volatile unsigned long *)0x40004004))

the hex number 0x40004004 represents the address of an general purpose I/O port for a microcontroller. Now I know that one of the * symbols(I don't know exactly which one, but I am guessing the first one from the left) represents the indirection operator which treats the address as an address and not a literal number. I also know that the volatile unsigned long is used so the compiler knows it needs to read a 32-bit unsigned number from the address. But I don't know why the there is another * in this statement.

another two examples that are leaving me stumped

*(long*)pt = NULL

and

FreePt = (long*)*pt

how do I interpret these?

Physics news on Phys.org
The first star is saying that the variable is a pointer and the parenthetical (long *) is casting the variable to be a volatile unsigned long pointer. Volatile means the compiler should leave it alone and not optimize code related to it and unsigned long pointer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volatile_variable

I'd say the statement *(long*)pt = NULL means store a NULL value into the memory location where the pt points and to store a long value (4 bytes for some C systems) ie fill it with 4 bytes of zeros.