1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Interpreting C pointers, dereferencing and indirection

1. Feb 18, 2014 #1
    I have been going through a book on embedded development. I have been followin the C programs in the book with about 95% success as C is not completely new to me. But I am new to pointers so I was hoping someone would kindly clear a few things for me.

#define INPUT (*((volatile unsigned long *)0x40004004))

the hex number 0x40004004 represents the address of an general purpose I/O port for a microcontroller. Now I know that one of the * symbols(I don't know exactly which one, but im guessing the first one from the left) represents the indirection operator which treats the address as an address and not a literal number. I also know that the volatile unsigned long is used so the compiler knows it needs to read a 32-bit unsigned number from the address. But I don't know why the there is another * in this statement.

another two examples that are leaving me stumped

*(long*)pt = NULL

and

FreePt = (long*)*pt

how do I interpret these?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 18, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

The first star is saying that the variable is a pointer and the parenthetical (long *) is casting the variable to be a volatile unsigned long pointer. Volatile means the compiler should leave it alone and not optimize code related to it and unsigned long pointer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volatile_variable

I'd say the statement *(long*)pt = NULL means store a NULL value into the memory location where the pt points and to store a long value (4 bytes for some C systems) ie fill it with 4 bytes of zeros.