Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is gravitational redshift taken into account in Hubble's Law?

1. Apr 18, 2010 #1
    From what I understand:

1. The more massive the object, the stronger the gravitational field. This leads to the light being emitted from the surface to shift down in frequency.
    2. The rate of expansion of the universe causes a redshift proportional its distance away.

I'm new to this, but let's give it a shot:

In general, how are the Hubble's Law measurements different for let's say, a very large galaxy and a small one, i.e., how are the two shifts differentiated?

P.S.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2010 #2

Matterwave

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

You probably couldn't really differentiate the two redshifts; however, there are 2 probable solutions. First, gravitational redshift should not depend on distance. On average, the universe is homogeneous and isotropic so that there shouldn't be more massive galaxies the farther out you look. Therefore, on average, the gravitational redshift should not present anything more than a small systematic error.

Second, I think the gravitational redshift is not large enough to be too much a problem. I'm not 100% on this second statement; however. I don't have any concrete numbers. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable can provide them. =)

4. Apr 18, 2010 #3
    That answer is more than enough. If I am understanding it correctly, the size of the gravitational redshift is too small to really worry about, but it would be hard to tell the difference between them if we really needed to?

5. Apr 18, 2010 #4

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper