1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is latex uncommon among experimental physicists?

1. Jun 29, 2008 #1
    To put my question in perspective, I'm starting grad school in the fall, and as an undergrad I was pretty sure I wanted to be a theorist so my range of experience with experiment is limited - I like reading papers off arxiv, and it's pretty rare to pull a theory paper that isn't typeset in latex. On the other hand the couple of experimental papers that I've found relevant to my interests have been pdfs of word docs. Is latex uncommon among experimentalists, or am I just reading the wrong papers?
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 29, 2008 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

It depends, my advisor in a theorist and he hasn't a clue about LaTeX. People work in their comfort zonne, so you can not make any generalizations about what tools they use.
  4. Jun 29, 2008 #3
    I'm currently working in my physics department with experimental astronomers, and LaTex is definitely the tool of choice there I strongly suspect that anyone who didn't have a clue about latex would have the mick taken out of them until they did; I'll only be workng there eight weeks and it looks like I'll be learning it!
  5. Jun 29, 2008 #4
    the title of this thread sounded more exciting, than the thread proved to be
  6. Jun 29, 2008 #5

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

From what I've seen, most of the professors at my school are quite competent with latex.
  7. Jun 29, 2008 #6
    I think almost everyone in our department uses it. Its quite easy to learn. Just get an editor like LEd and a standard latex package. Then go to arxiv and look at the source of some of them. Everything is fairly straightforward, and there are a lot of shortcuts already in place for formatting.