Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Is Sqrt(-1) not unique? I.e. is i not the only one?

1. Jan 18, 2014 #1
    Sorry for the dumb question, I'm not good at mathematics, but:

what is 1/i ?

1/i * 1/i = 1*1 / (i*i) = 1/-1 = -1 ???

If so the number, 1/i has the property that (1/i)^2 = -1 which is the definition of i.

BUT, 1/i is not equal to i because if it did:

1/i * i would be i*i= -1

however,

1/i * i = i / i = 1 ???

So can someone explain what's going on? Where did I make the mistake(s)?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 18, 2014 #2

hilbert2

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

##\frac{1}{i}=-i##, because by multiplying the numerator and denominator with ##i## we get ##\frac{1}{i}=\frac{i}{i^{2}}=\frac{i}{-1}=-i##. The numbers ##i## and ##-i## both solve the equation ##x^{2}=-1##. The square root or higher roots can't be defined uniquely in complex algebra.

4. Jan 18, 2014 #3
    This is where your problem lies. You have to be careful with square roots. x^2 = 25, but does that mean x is +5 or -5? I think you can figure it out from that.

5. Jan 18, 2014 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Every number, real or complex, has two roots. -1 has the two roots i and -i. Your (1/i) is equal to -i.

And, while "i^2= -1" is often used as a defining property of "i", it cannot really be used as a "definition" because, as you say, -i has that same property.

If you want a rigorously correct definition of complex numbers, you have to do something like this: