1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

K.p theory model & Heavy-hole effective masses in strained QWs

1. Aug 28, 2007 #1
    Hi Everyone, :smile:

I am new to the Physics Forums. I have a question regarding k.p theory.

I am keen to design band-diagram, wave-functions of a strained MQW structure. I understand that in strained QWs, Heavy-Hole (and probably light-hole also) effective mass decreases significantly with strain, which consequently affects the subband states in the Hole QW.

Couple of questions I have regarding this are as follows:

1) Does anyone has a model on Mathcad or Mathematica which calculates this? If not can anyone suggest a paper which provides simplified details of how to write the code for this. Unfortunately I am very new to designing field with limited experience in writing code.

2) How can one calculate the strained Heavy and light hole effective masses?

Thanks a million for your help!

Paul M. :smile:
    ps: I put this message also in the "Beyond the Standard Model" section as I wasnt sure where my question was best to ask...

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 28, 2007 #2

Gokul43201

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

4. Aug 29, 2007 #3

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Try getting the book, Physics of Optoelectronic Devices by S L Chuang. THe first couple of chapters will provide much of what you are looking for, maybe not the code, but you cna figure it out from there.

5. Oct 7, 2007 #4
    Hello,