1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Kinematics - Two bodies revolving around each other question?

1. Jul 10, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Hi. I am a newbie to the Physics forum. I am actually attempting to figure out a problem where there are two bodies forced to revolve around each other. The only constraints that would exist are the distance of separation between the two bodies is assumed to be constant. And there might be an initial angular velocity.
    Intuitively I believe that if they are given initial equal angular velocities, the entire system will move in a straight line. And if they are having different angular velocities, the system will tend to spiral. Can any one tell me if this is right?
    2. Relevant equations

Here is where I get stuck...My initial attemp was to design parametric equations in the form :
    x1(t)=x2(t)+Rcostheta1
    y1(t)=y2(t)+Rcostheta1

x2(t)=x1(t)+Rcostheta2
    y2(t)=y1(t)+Rcostheta2

Now both are simultaneously varying..I am confused as to how model the same..So any tips on as to whether I am on the right track or whether I have to consider acceleration also for them to maintain that distance of separation would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 10, 2008 #2
    Can you give a drawing? It's unclear to me now what you're talking about.

4. Jul 13, 2008 #3

dynamicsolo

Homework Helper