1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Language for a theoretical physicist

1. Aug 25, 2010 #1
    Hi,

I am an undergrad majoring in Physics. I want to be a theoretical physicist. What language would help me more (in any way)? German or Chinese?

Thanks,

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 26, 2010 #2
    Well I'm in the same position as you. I'm half way through a physics undergrad and beginning to take an interest in theory. The last thing I have considered is which languages I should learn.

But I suppose German wouldn't be a bad choice, a lot of modern physics was originally done in German so it might be nice if you wanted to read the original papers. I think Chinese would be more useful for an engineer who worked in Asia a lot, but even then nearly any Chinese person you would work with professionally would speak English anyways.

To me it seems that most critical communications in theoretical physics would be done with equations and diagrams, so I think math would be the language you would want to learn best.

But these days, in nearly every industry, English is going to be the one most people understand.

4. Aug 26, 2010 #3
    The best one will be the one that interests you and you can do well in so as to not drop your grades. Only partially joking, I'd consider C++ as your language.

5. Aug 26, 2010 #4
    Bad advice. It's good thing for you to study hard things *even if* it causes your grades to go down slightly (i.e. you get B's rather than A's). One of the better life decisions I made was to study things that had nothing to do with physics, but which I was just interested in.