Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

B Layman asks 2 basic questions regarding gravity & free will

1. Sep 8, 2016 #1
    Thank you for your valuable time sorry I don't know appropriate place to get clarification.

1. I've read that if one could know the position, speed etc of every atom or particle in the universe one could predict how everything would turn out. If this is true then is there a scientific argument to be made in favor of free will and what, in general terms would it be?

2. If the speed of an object's motion through space plus the speed of an object's motion through time always equals the speed of light and there is no time at the speed of light why can't we dismiss troublesome gravity and claim success in the unified theory with just the other three basic forces and consider gravity an observational distortion? I am a layman, not a kook. Please be gentle re my ignorance. Physicists rock!

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 9, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2016 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Thread closed temporarily for Moderation....

4. Sep 9, 2016 #3

berkeman

Thread re-opened so we can offer some answers to your questions... :smile:

5. Sep 9, 2016 #4

jedishrfu

Your second premise is not right hence your conclusion won't be either. To get a better understanding of Relativity, I would suggest that you read Ben Crowell's excellent free ebook on the subject. His books may be found at:

www.lightandmatter.com

6. Sep 9, 2016 #5

PeroK

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Suppose you solved the problem, say, of exactly what I was going to say next. You've put all the variables into your equations and calculated precisely what I am going to say and when.