Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Laymen artist needs equations

1. Sep 7, 2015 #1
    I know this is a strange request; I certainly hope not unwelcomed here. I am not a physicist or a student of such, I'm just a humble tattoo artist in need of two equations - as I have a client that wants these equations designed into a piece:

1) the/an equation explaining the entanglement of particles

2) the/an equation explaining the outcome of the double slit experiment, when observed and the "wave" becomes particle.

I am attaching two equations I took screen shots of in a youtube video of a talk on these subjects, and although it was a professor of physics giving the talk, I don't want to take JUST his word for it that these equations are THE equations.

http://brainpanpublishing.com/entangled%20particles%20equasion.JPG [Broken]
    http://brainpanpublishing.com/observed%20to%20particle%20equasion.JPG [Broken]

So would all of you very understanding and kind (and amazing) physicists out there please either agree that my attached equations are correct, or post the proper equations?

I very much appreciate everyone's help.

RE
    New Graffiti

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2015 #2

Geofleur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

To make them into equations, you'll want there to be a "## |\Psi \rangle =##" on the left hand sides. So,

## | \Psi \rangle = \left( | \downarrow \uparrow \rangle + | \uparrow \downarrow \rangle \right ) / \sqrt{2} ##

and

## | \Psi \rangle = \left( \Psi_U | D_U \rangle + \Psi_L |D_L \rangle \right) / \sqrt{2} ##.

They look right to me.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2015
  4. Sep 7, 2015 #3

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

Pretty much (although the second works better if the magnitudes of ##\Psi_U## and ##\Psi_D## are equal to one).