Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Looking for a metric to express difference between two curves

1. Jan 11, 2012 #1
    Hi all,

I am trying to argue that an ellipse is a good approximation for some discontinuity in a material. The ellipse and the interpolated curve I get from the photo look very much alike, but I need an actual number to show how much the two curves differ from each other. I thought of

[tex]\frac{Area_{actual} - Area_{ellipse}}{Area_{actual}}[/tex]

but it doesn't really give any information about how much the curves match (a square with the same area as the ellipse would give 0 deviation).

I'm kind of new to Riemannian geometry, but I thought that maybe I could use the Riemann curvature tensor, although I don't really know how to do it yet :P . I would appreciate any suggestions you are able to give!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 11, 2012 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Here is a possibility:

Let X be the interior of the first curve and let Y be the interior of the second curve. Then you can make

[tex](X\setminus Y) \cup (Y\setminus X)[/tex]

The area of that should be a good (pseudo)metric to describe what you want.

4. Jan 11, 2012 #3
    If the curves can be expressed in polar form [itex](r(\theta), \theta)[/itex], perhaps using as origin of coordinates the center of your suggested ellipse, then maybe you could use
    [tex]\int_{\theta_1}^{\theta_2} (r_{ellipse} - r_{interp})^2 d\theta[/tex]
    (Am I making sense?)

5. Jan 13, 2012 #4
    Thank you both for your answers!

Micromass, I really like your suggestion, but I had trouble going from sets to actual equations.

The solution I used eventually was Dodo's equation: I also looked up "interpolation error".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interpolation