1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Low GRE's, am I totally screwed?

1. Jul 10, 2011 #1
    Preface: This is kinda a long post, sorry!

I'm wondering if I'm totally screwed getting into a graduate program. I want to get into a PhD program for Planetary Sciences.

I'm a chemistry major with a 3.9 GPA in my major (post-baccalaureate). However, I already have a degree in art history and Spanish with a minor in astronomy where I graduated with a pretty lousy GPA of a 3.2. This was mostly due to my first year and a half where let's just say I was having some personal issues. lol. But my last 2 years of my first degree I think I had around a 3.6 average, so there was definitely an upward progression.

My GRE's are awful. The first time I took it (3 years ago) I got a 540 on the Verbal and a 660 on the Quant. 4 on the writing section. I just retook the GRE's this week where I was hoping to raise my quant significantly (i was getting around 700-750's on the practice exams). Unfortunately, I ended up only getting a 690 on the Quant, and a 490 on the Verbal (I know, awful. I wanted to cry). No idea about the writing section yet.

I did 1 year of research during my first undergrad in astronomy and I ended up getting a published paper out of it (not first author). I've also been doing research with a planetary science professor for a few months and will continue to work with him for the next year. So I will have some experience going in, but I know a lot of people apply with much more.