1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Made a discovery and I would like to publish it any advice?

1. Mar 28, 2015 #1
    I'm a senior and a physics major at a university and I'm working on my senior project with three physics professor. I made a discovery about the non linear system I am studying which I haven't found in the literature and I would like to publish it. I won't give to much details about the discovery but you can say it relates chaos in Hamiltonian systems to chaos in driven damped pendulum. Any advice on how should I go about publish my results. What type of journals would you recommended I send my paper to?

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 28, 2015 #2

Doug Huffman

Gold Member

Do not your professors have a prior interest? Be careful of your contract as a student and its effect on your career.

4. Mar 28, 2015 #3
    What do you mean by prior interest? When it comes to author I would have them as 2nd and 3rd authors.

5. Mar 28, 2015 #4

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

Why don't you just ask the professors you're working with?

6. Mar 28, 2015 #5
    Oh I did already and they were fine with the idea. I just posted on here because I like hearing a variety of opinions. Also I won't see them till next week and I want to start working on the paper right now.

7. Mar 28, 2015 #6

phyzguy

Science Advisor