Mathematical equations to ask questions about physics- Who teaches this skill?

In summary,I'm a retired Engineer. I want to learn methods to formulate equations to ask questions of physics phenomenon. What school teaches this and by whom? Can anyone point me there?
Lou Arnold
I'm a retired Engineer. I want to learn methods to formulate equations to ask questions of physics phenomenon. What school teaches this and by whom? Can anyone point me there?

Physics news on Phys.org
Lou Arnold said:
I'm a retired Engineer. I want to learn methods to formulate equations to ask questions of physics phenomenon. What school teaches this and by whom? Can anyone point me there?
Looking for an emoticon to mark a reaction, I find none that I really want. When someone responds to your question, that and maybe other posts could be interesting.

Can you provide an example? I have no idea what you are after

Likes vanhees71 and Vanadium 50
malawi_glenn said:
Can you provide an example? I have no idea what you are after
I want to ask the same thing. What does @Lou Arnold really want to know or understand. Retired Engineer means he is experienced and educated, so has used Mathematics to explore and make decisions with the use of Physics and whatever Mathematics which describes concepts and past-used applications. One would believe he has already learned to do much of what he may be trying to ask. @Lou Arnold, maybe the connection between Physics and Engineering has not been very clear for you? But if this, then readers very possibly do not understand how these are disconnected for you.

First, I would like a recommendation for a course that teaches and explains what I want help with, please.