Mathematically rigorous Calculus 2 book

In summary, the conversation revolves around the recommendation of books for a Calculus 2 course in Brazil that covers Ordinary Differential Equations and multi-variable differential calculus. Some suggestions include looking at the textbook they will be using, the Schaum's Outline series, Mardsen and Tromba's Vector Calculus, Apostol's Calculus, and Spivak Calculus on Manifolds or Munkres Analysis on Manifolds for a more rigorous approach. One person also recommends a book by Serge Lang titled "Analysis I" published in 1968, which may now be called "Undergraduate Analysis."
Rodrigo Schmidt
So, i am currently studying physics in a brazilian university. I am going to have a Calculus 2 course which, in Brazil, covers Ordinary Differential Equations and multi-variable differential calculus. So which challenging and rigourous books would you guys recommend for that? Thanks for the attention!

Likes Math Amateur
Physics news on Phys.org
If you know which textbook they will be using, it would be good to look at that first. Other than that, for self study, I have always been a fan of the Schaum's Outline series of books. They are fairly inexpensive and have a lot of worked examples and exercises.

Last edited:
Likes Math Amateur and Rodrigo Schmidt
I would not call it rigorous by Mathematics standards, but Mardsen and Tromba: Vector Calculus fits the bill. It has a lot more substance than your typical intro Multi. Calculus book.

Check out the second volume of Apostol's Calculus.

Thanks for all the suggestions! I will check on all of them.

Likes Math Amateur
Rigorous multi variable calc would be on the level of Spivak Calculus on Manifolds or Munkres Analysis on Manifolds. Are you sure you want rigour for a first course?

1. What is the level of difficulty for a mathematically rigorous Calculus 2 book?