Maths/Mathsphysics course in German-speaking university?

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's desire to go on an exchange to a German-speaking country for their math/mathsphysics degree. They are seeking a reputable university that offers this specific degree, and are advised that most German universities primarily focus on pure math or math-computer science. The conversation also touches on the history of famous German mathematicians and the current state of math and physics studies in Germany.
Pyroadept
Hi everyone,
I'm in second year of a maths/mathsphysics degree (four years) and want to go on an exchange next year to a German-speaking country. My university has given me the job of picking the university. Most German universities seem to just do a pure maths or maths-computer science degree. Does anyone know of a reputable university offering a maths/mathsphysics degree?

Thanks for any help

Physics news on Phys.org
Pyroadept said:
Most German universities seem to just do a pure maths or maths-computer science degree.

That's right. Math and physics in general are very unconnected in Germany. People
do the one or the other thing.

Physics is pretty much 95% experimental physics over here in Germany believe it or not.

I know that most people from different countries think that math or physics
has to be s.th. special here because of all those guys with german
ancestry like Einstein, Planck, Hilbert, Pauli, Schrödinger (both austrian),
Bethe, Born, Goedel ... to name a few. But times have changed and the best
programs are at the most elite studies in your country (usa), trust me.

What you mean is possibly analysis which falls in the category "mathematical physics"
or "applied mathematics" which is in it's heart nothing else then pure math with topics like PDE's etc.

Universities which offering something like that anyway:

LMU Munich (very elite)

http://www.theorie.physik.uni-muenchen.de/TMP/

Wuerzburg (or würzburg)