Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

[Matlab] Simulation of Stochastic Process

1. May 28, 2015 #1
    Hi all,
    I have this dynamic:
    2vwuyph.png
    is a Mean Reverting process. I want to simulate the sde with matlab but I am a beginner and I have some problems. I show you the code that I have created:

Code (Text):

%% Simulazione prezzo Geometric Ornstein-Ulenbeck

clear all
    clc

%Parameters
    mu = 0.5;
    sigma = 0.12;
    eta = 1;
    T = 2;
    N_t = 300; %Temporal Intervals
    N = 1000; %Number of Simulations
    t=linspace(0,T,N_t); %Temporal line

dt=T/N_t; %Temporal increments
    P_t=zeros(N,N_t);
    P_t(:,1)=20; %First Price

%Model
    for i=1:N
        for j=2:N_t
            dW = randn;
            P_t(i,j) = P_t(i,j-1) + eta*(mu-log(P_t(i,j-1)))*P_t(i,j-1)*dt+sigma*P_t(i,j-1)*dW;
        end
    end

plot(t,P_t(1,:));

But I don't know if it is correct. Can you help me?

2. jcsd
  3. May 28, 2015 #2

kreil

Gold Member

The code seems to run fine and the plot looks reasonable. Is there some reason that you think it is wrong?

4. May 28, 2015 #3
    Because is my first work alone and I'm not sure of the cicle. Do you think it's ok?

5. May 28, 2015 #4
    It is not OK. The discretization of the Wiener increment is wrong. Here is the first link that I could find that explains how to do it correctly in Matlab:

http://www.caam.rice.edu/~cox/stoch/dhigham.pdf

To summarize: [itex]dW \approx \sqrt(dt)N(0,1)[/itex], so you forgot to multiply your dW by the square root of dt.

Also, the wikipedia entry for the first order scheme has some example code for exactly this problem:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euler–Maruyama_method