Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mecanical turning system (toy car)

1. Sep 25, 2006 #1
    Hello, I need to build a toy car, that will perform the following task:
    Go in a staight line for 5 meters, then follow a semi-circunference (or just turn 180 degrees, but not a about-turn) and go back another 5meters, the turning is around a cone:

_____________________________________ ---> boundaries

------------>------->-------\

-------------------cone ---> 0 |

----------< -----------<----/

I am supplied with a electrical engine, and 3 1.5V batteries, I am not allowed to use any other power source, however I can use pretty much any mechanical or electical device I desire (no remote controls, the car needs to perform on it's own)

I am aware that this is a very simple task, for engineering, but I am in my 1st year and have pretty much only had mathematical classes (calculus, linear algebra, phisics, computing etc) so I am not familiar with the electrical circuits that may accomplish this task....have been brainstorming mechanical solutions for a while now, but nothing really good has come up..

The problem is that the car needs to have 2 operating "modes" : go straight -- turn...and I need to be able to switch between these modes...

Any suggestions would be very welcome :)

p.s: sorry for any misspellings....am from Brazil :p

Last edited: Sep 25, 2006
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 25, 2006 #2

Danger

Gold Member

How about:
    Have a side-scanning photo emitter/detector or ultrasonic pair to act as 'radar'. When the car detects the cone beside it, it turns for a pre-determined amount of time (say 2-3 seconds; however long it would take to turn 180 degrees) and then goes straight again.

4. Oct 2, 2006 #3

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Or you could use one of those home-made robots that follows a black line drawn on the ground...