Mechanical Engineers: How much writing do you do?

In summary, Engineering is a profession that requires you to write documentation in a logical and consistent manner. This is for your own memory and for that of others. A more obvious reason is legal. A single error in your documentation in a life critical application may be the difference between you being in jail or not.
smp500
Hi! Right now I'm in my 2nd year of Mechanical Engineering. The only three ME classes I'm taking are Fluids/Thermo I, Mechanisms, and ME Lab I. I don't particularly like the first two, but I'm doing fairly well in them and they give me something to do. However, the lab is killing me. Every two weeks we write a 10-20 page technical report. Talking to older MEs, it looks like in the next two years they'll all be 30+. Not to mention in my senior classes, I'll be writing reports upwards of 120 pages! I currently spend more time working on those papers than I do on all of my other homework combined (and I have 5 other classes). Is this what mechanical engineering looks like after college? When my dad was in school he never had to do this much writing. If this is what engineering is now then I don't want to have anything to do with it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Physics news on Phys.org
smp500 said: