MIPS programming successive addition

In summary, the task is to create a program in MIPS assembly that prompts for two integers, echoes them, and then multiplies them without using the multiplication operation. This can be achieved by performing repeated addition using a loop and a register to keep track of the count. It is recommended to refer to class notes or textbook examples for guidance.
JAO012

Homework Statement

I need to create a program that will prompt for two integers, echo those integers, and then multiply them without using the multiplication operation and report the result.

Homework Equations

The following is what I have so far. The prompts and echoes work, however I do not know how to actually perform the successive addition. I know I need to set up some sort of loop, but I am new to MIPS and assembly and am stuck.

The Attempt at a Solution

.data
prompt_in:
.asciiz "Please input first integer: "
prompt_ina:
.asciiz "\nPlease input second integer: "
prompt_out:
.asciiz "\nThe result is "
num1:
.word 0
num2:
.word 0
echo:
.asciiz "You have input "
echo1:
.asciiz "You have input "
result:
.word 0
.text
.globl main
main:
la $a0,prompt_in
li $v0,4
syscall

li $v0,5
syscall
sw $v0,num1

la $a0,echo
li $v0,4
syscall

lw $a0,num1
li $v0, 1
syscall

la $a0,prompt_ina
li $v0,4
syscall

li $v0,5
syscall
sw $v0,num2

la $a0,echo1
li $v0,4
syscall

lw $a0,num2
li $v0,1
syscall

Physics news on Phys.org
Suppose the input numbers to multiply are 4 and 11. The simplest way to get the product is to multiply them directly, but since you are not allowed to do this, you will need to perform repeated addition, something like this:

0 + 11 = 11 (step 1)
11 + 11 = 22 (step 2)
22 + 11 = 33 (step 3)
33 + 11 = 44 (step 4)

There are 4 steps above, which corresponds to one of the two multipliers, with the other being what we added repetitively.