Modern Algebra & Real Analysis: Learn Proofwriting?

In summary: And we do a LOT of practice. In fact, the midterm and final exams are entirely devoted to proofs. Plus, there is a subreddit called "Proofs" where people post their proofs and ask for feedback.I think that would be a good resource to start with if you are interested in learning more about proofs. In summary, Robert recommends that beginners take an intro-level modern algebra class in order to gain experience in writing proofs. He also advises against taking Real Analysis or Modern Algebra if you have no experience in writing proofs. However, he thinks that Intro-level Modern Algebra is a good class to take to get started.
blueberryfive
Hello,

I just took ordinary diff eq and I've had calc III and linear algebra, but I'm worried about taking Modern Algebra or Real Analysis next semester because I have no experience writing proofs. The linear algebra class was all computation on tests and homework (we did see some proofs on the blackboard). Is one supposed to learn proofwriting in real or modern? I haven't had logic either, which I assume is important. I'm also switching institutions.

Physics news on Phys.org
Real analysis will be very difficult for you if you haven't been exposed to proofs. Sorry.

However, intro-level modern algebra is a good class to take to get experience in writing proofs. For elementary group/ring theory, you practically don't need any background. You should be fine taking it.

Great, thanks a lot for your candor. Just a side question: did you have experience writing proofs before you took modern algebra? like I said, I'm transferring and I want to gauge my mathematical competency going into this new school. If anything, is there a short text you know of that could introduce me to proofs? I have about a month before I start classes. Thanks again for your suggestion though, I think I'll definitely go with modern then.