1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Moving directly to Phd after 4 year bachelors

1. Nov 12, 2012 #1
    Hey I'm currently an undergraduate Physics student in my third year. I wish to continue on with Physics and complete a Phd

Preferably I'd like to avoid doing a masters, I've looked at a lot of threads on here and the general consensus is that with a three year bachelors (like the ones in europe) you would have to do a masters.

However, I'm studying in Ireland and so my degree programme is 4 years of purely maths and physics courses and I have good grades and so I'm curious as to whether I'd be able to apply directly for a phd with that. I would be applying to UK and mainland europe.

Any Advice is appreciated

Cheers

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 12, 2012 #2
    Hi. I'm in a similar dilemma, bachelors in Spain are 4 years and apparently I would need to get an out-of-pocket masters to pursue a phd in most places in Europe. You wouldn't have to do a masters if the phd program you apply to doesn't require it, but that generally means graduating with a 1st class at many UK institutions. Look into German universities

Assuming you want to start next year, you could try some US graduate programs that don't require the Physics GRE since the last chance to take it this year was last Saturday(you would almost certainly need the general GRE, but you likely won't require much preparation for it, you could take it in 2-3 weeks or less).

I don't think getting phd funding in the UK will be a problem for you, but everything I know indicates it is far easier to procure a funded phd program in the states for most people in the EU.

4. Nov 13, 2012 #3

cgk

Science Advisor