MSc in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of pursuing an MSc in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics with a BSc in Mathematical Science with a 3.00/4.00 result. The University of Amsterdam and the University of Bristol are recommended for their strong programs in logic and philosophy of mathematics. The conversation also suggests looking into postgraduate courses in the UK and checking the specific requirements of these universities.
aleph-aleph
Hi all, I got a BSc in Mathematical Science (not very good result: 3.00/4.00) but I'm interested to further my study in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics.
Can I take MSc in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics with such result? If can, which university you guys would recommend?

Physics news on Phys.org
aleph-aleph said:
Hi all, I got a BSc in Mathematical Science (not very good result: 3.00/4.00) but I'm interested to further my study in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics.
Can I take MSc in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics with such result? If can, which university you guys would recommend?

I understand there is a hive of logical activity at the University of Amsterdam. I believe courses relevant to you are taught in English. You could try the MSc Logic - mathematics track (also on offer: philosophy, computer science or linguistics track).

Here is a list of all postgraduate courses in the UK listed under 'mathematics' with keyword 'logic'.

http://www.prospects.ac.uk/search_courses_results.htm

I understand Bristol are world class in philosophy of mathematics (they have a Logic and Philosophy of Mathematics degree) if that is what you mean by foundations. I am also told Manchester are very strong for logic.

I'm sorry I don't know how a 3.00/4.00 translate to UK or Dutch requirements but their websites should help you out.

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks pi.

1. What is an MSc in Logic and Foundation of Mathematics?