1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

MSc in Theoretical (Mathematical) Physics,KCL vs Edinburgh

Tags:
  1. Mar 18, 2017 #1
    Hi all,

I have an offer to do an MSc in QFFF at Imperial or an MSc in Mathematical Physics at Edinburgh, or (with luck) an MSc in Theoretical Physics at Kings College London (KCL).

Technically, QFFF is the best (i.e most reputable) course - but I have heard very bad things about how it's been taught recently, and really don't think it's a good idea.

So between Edinburgh and Kings College London, what's my best bet? (as someone who will have a BSc in Physics with Theoretical Physics, should be on a decent 1st, and is aiming to do a PhD). Edinburgh has stronger REF results, but it's student satisfaction (overall, I don't know for this course) is much poorer...

Basically, does anyone have any experience of these courses and could let me know what they're like? / If you had a PhD application from someone on one of these, which would you pick, all things being equal.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 20, 2017 #2
    If you thing you're not going to like it, for sure you won't. Kings College London is probably the best, and it's harder to get admitted there. Maybe the level is higher, but learning requires just that.

4. Apr 25, 2017 #3
    I received an offer for the MSc Theoretical Physics at KCL and have applied to Imperial (QFFF), Edinburgh (MSc Theoretical Physics), Durham (MSc Particles, Strings and Cosmology) and LMU (MSc Theoretical and Mathematical Physics).

I always thought that the QFFF course is the best, because Imperial wants a First, while KCL accepts 2:1. Also Imperial is ranked the highest, being in the top 20 worldwide, while KCL is just in the top 100 when it comes to physics or maths.