Navigating the Path to Cryobiology: Advice for College Students

In summary: Thanks for understanding.Yes. You can delete the one in Career Guidance if you can. Thanks for understanding.
ambrosia
I am currently a college student and am very interested in becoming a cryobiologist someday. Particularly, I would like to work on organ preservation or something similar. I just have a few questions regarding what path I should take to get there. Any advice by scientists working in this field would be greatly appreciated.

1) I am having trouble deciding between a major in biology or biochemistry. I am contemplating on whether to pursue a double major in biology/biochemistry. I know both fields pertain to cryobiology. What exactly do biochemists in this field do? What do biologists do?
2) Unfortunately, there are no cryobiology labs where I live. Until I can get to a lab that centers more around cryobiology, what kind of research and/or lab experience would you suggest I take a look at?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
I am currently a college student and am very interested in becoming a cryobiologist someday. Particularly, I would like to work on organ preservation or something similar. I just have a few questions regarding what path I should take to get there. Any advice by scientists working in this field would be greatly appreciated.

1) I am having trouble deciding between a major in biology or biochemistry. I am contemplating on whether to pursue a double major in biology/biochemistry. I know both fields pertain to cryobiology. What exactly do biochemists in this field do? What do biologists do?
2) Unfortunately, there are no cryobiology labs where I live. Until I can get to a lab that centers more around cryobiology, what kind of research and/or lab experience would you suggest I take a look at?

Thanks.

Last edited: