Need help to start with Healpix on IDL and Windows 7

In summary, Chalnoth was having trouble installing Healpix on Windows, and found that the easiest way was to install Linux in a dual-boot configuration. He also found that, if you really want to use IDL in Windows, the two ways to do it are to use a Windows install of IDL or to use a Linux install of IDL which is placed within cygwin. Finally, Chalnoth recommended Ubuntu, Mint, or OpenSuse, depending on your preferences.
fineTuner
Hello,
i'm an astrophysics student, and i need to create a CMB map using Planck data. I have to use Healpix on IDL.
I'm new in IDL, but I'm learning the basics, and i haven't particular problems.
My problem is with Healpix: i can't understand what is the right procedure of installation (on Windows 7). I followed the guide but i can't complete it, because is mainly focused on Linux systems. I don't know what to do after installing cgwin and all the requested packages. The guide is here: http://healpix.jpl.nasa.gov/html/install.htm#SECTION00071000000000000000
Is there someone who has already installed it on Windows?

Thanks for your attention.

Space news on Phys.org
fineTuner said:
Hello,
i'm an astrophysics student, and i need to create a CMB map using Planck data. I have to use Healpix on IDL.
I'm new in IDL, but I'm learning the basics, and i haven't particular problems.
My problem is with Healpix: i can't understand what is the right procedure of installation (on Windows 7). I followed the guide but i can't complete it, because is mainly focused on Linux systems. I don't know what to do after installing cgwin and all the requested packages. The guide is here: http://healpix.jpl.nasa.gov/html/install.htm#SECTION00071000000000000000
Is there someone who has already installed it on Windows?

Thanks for your attention.