Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Need help to start with Healpix on IDL and Windows 7

1. Jul 14, 2013 #1
    Hello,
    i'm an astrophysics student, and i need to create a CMB map using Planck data. I have to use Healpix on IDL.
    I'm new in IDL, but i'm learning the basics, and i haven't particular problems.
    My problem is with Healpix: i can't understand what is the right procedure of installation (on Windows 7). I followed the guide but i can't complete it, because is mainly focused on Linux systems. I don't know what to do after installing cgwin and all the requested packages. The guide is here: http://healpix.jpl.nasa.gov/html/install.htm#SECTION00071000000000000000
    Is there someone who has already installed it on Windows?

Thanks for your attention.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2013 #2

Chalnoth

Science Advisor

Honestly, your best bet is to just install Linux. It's pretty easy these days to set up a system for dual-boot Windows/Linux. Yes, it can be a bit of a hassle to install Linux, but so much AP work is done in Linux that it's probably a good idea, even if it takes longer this time around than getting Healpix to work.

That said, if you really want to use IDL in Windows, I can see two ways of doing it:
    1. Use a Windows install of IDL, and manually point that install to your Healpix installation under cygwin. This will be a little bit hairy, but not too horrible.
    2. Use a Linux install of IDL which is placed within cygwin, and install Healpix as you would under Linux. The problem with this is, I have no idea whatsoever if IDL will work under cygwin.

4. Jul 15, 2013 #3

Chalnoth

Science Advisor

By the way, you'd get Healpix to work under Windows by adjusting the Healpix startup file and pointing IDL to it:
    http://www.idlcoyote.com/misc_tips/idl_startupfile.php