Need help with vectors, angles, etc please

In summary, the person is seeking assistance on how to move a 3-dimensional object along the surface of a 3-D sphere, facing in the direction it is moving relative to the surface. They mention that they are not very good at math and have a basic understanding of vector math. They also provide more information about the system and their progress.
kayl669
I have a problem that I have no way of solving on my own. I would like to know how to move a 3-dimensional object long the surface of a 3-D sphere and have it move in the direction it is facing, relative to the surface. Can someone please help me? I am not very good at math but am trying. What I know so far is very basic vector math, like sine/cosine, angles between vectors etc. I would really appreciate any help you could give me.

Physics news on Phys.org
kayl669 said:
I have a problem that I have no way of solving on my own. I would like to know how to move a 3-dimensional object long the surface of a 3-D sphere and have it move in the direction it is facing, relative to the surface. Can someone please help me? I am not very good at math but am trying. What I know so far is very basic vector math, like sine/cosine, angles between vectors etc. I would really appreciate any help you could give me.

Can you define your problem better? Without a better describtions of your system and what you really want... I'd look at it in spherical cooridinates... in this coordinate system the radius r would not be allowed to change, but theta (angle describing where you are in lattitude from north to south pole, allowed to be from 0 to pi) and phi (describing where you are in longitude, allowed to vary from 0 to 2pi) are allowed to change.

This system is easily converted into x/y/z (Cartesian) coordinates if you choose.

Thank you for trying to help me. I finally figured it out :)

Last edited:

1. What are vectors and how are they used?