Need verify on a momment of inertia/torque problem

• Thread starter iamtrojan3
  • Start date
In summary, a student is seeking help with a physics problem involving the moment of inertia and torque applied to a solid disc. After providing the necessary calculations, the student admits to struggling with these types of problems and seeks corrections and advice. The expert suggests paying attention to units in calculations and reminds the student to post future problems in the correct section.
Hi, this is my first time on this forum, so don't flame me for not doing things right. I'm a junior in high school and currently taking AP physics, this problem in my hwk has been bothering me for a while. I've never received the answer to this question and i just need to know if i did this right, since this is really the first moment of inertia problem i encountered...
the problem is:
A force of 15N is applied tangentially to the edge of a 0.88kg solid disc initially at rest. The radius of the disc is 0.55m. How fast will the disc be spinning after it has gone 3.0 complete rotations? (disregard all the friction/air resistance etc.)

The moment of Inertia of a solid disc is I=1/2mr^2 >> I=1/2(0.88)(0.55^2) >> I=0.1331
Torque= Lever arm x Force applied Torque= 15N x 0.55m = 8.25Nm
Torque = alpha x I >>> 8.25= alpha x 0.1331 >>> alpha = 62 (this doesn't look right :cry: )
Then just use Kenematic Equations
since 3 rotations is 6pi
W^2=Wo^2x2(alpha)(Theta)
W^2=0(62)(6pi)>>> W= 48.35radians/sec (this doesn't look right either :mad: :cry: )

Basicly my thoughts through the problem ^^^^^^^^^
Feel free to correct me on watever...i admitt, i suck/hate these problems.

Physics news on Phys.org
I have not verified your numbers, but the approach is correct.

I will suggest that you make it a habit to carry the units along in your calculations. Properly used, units can be a real aid in arriving at the correct solution.