1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

No faculty room at top uni's if you didn't go to one?

1. Dec 26, 2008 #1
    Hello,

As my name suggests, I'm a first year PhD student, specifically in engineering. I make this thread not because I am concerned about my future, but because I am a little vexed about a trend I noticed. I go to a well-respected university, and I chose it for less-than-academic reasons such as non-miserable weather and it's fairly cheap to fly home. Anyway, one of the uses of getting a PhD is for being able to teach at a university, so I was perusing the top few engineering schools and noticed that 95% or better of all the engineering faculty had degrees from Stanford, MIT, Berkeley or CalTech. This vexed me because I feel like those schools are way over-represented in proportion to how many of the best they actually turn out; It suggests that if you didn't go to those schools, you'll never have a shot at the most coveted faculty positions regardless of how great your research was.

Like I said, this doesn't concern me much because my dream is to work at a fab at a company like Intel or TI, but I'm sure many of my fellow students are doing excellent work also and are striving to teach at the very best universities and they might not get a fair opportunity.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 26, 2008 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2015 Award

I don't believe you. Plain and simple. 95% of the faculty from four schools?

Let's look at Stanford, since they have their engineering faculty list on line and searchable.

• Stanford: 99
    • MIT: 26
    • Berkeley: 43
    • CalTech: 13