1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Normalize the wave function and more Please help

1. Oct 18, 2009 #1
    normalize the wave function and more!! Please help!!!

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

i) Normalize the wave function

ii) Calculate <x>

iii) Calculate [tex]<x^{2}>[/tex]

iv) What would happen if a < 0?

2. Relevant equations

[tex]\psi\left(x\right) = N\left(1+i\right)exp\left(-a|x|\right)[/tex], for -inf < x < inf and a > 0

3. The attempt at a solution

It would take ages for me to work out the latex for all my steps (I'm new to latex!!) so I'll do what i need to and hope someone can help!!

First:

[tex]^{inf}_{-inf}\int 2N^{2}e^{-2a|x|}dx[/tex]
    [tex]=N^{2}\left[-e^{-2a|x|}\right]^{inf}_{-inf}[/tex]

so: [tex]\frac{-N^{2}}{a}=1[/tex]
    so: [tex]N=\sqrt{\frac{-1}{a}}[/tex]

therefore:
    [tex]\psi\left(x\right) = \sqrt{\frac{-1}{a}}\left(1+i\right)exp\left(-a|x|\right)[/tex]

ii+iii) for the expectation values, I got both equalling zero

iv) and if a < 0, you'd get exponential growth as x approaches infinity (+ and -)

Is this right??!

I get so confused when the limits are infinity!!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 18, 2009 #2
    Re: normalize the wave function and more!! Please help!!!

I think you lost a 2 when doing your initial normalization.

You should get an expectation value for position of zero. Think about physically why that is the case.

The expectation value of x^2 should not be zero. Check that integral.

Your completely correct on the a<0 regieme. The function would increase to infinity as x goes to infinity and you could not normalize the function. The solution becomes non-physical.

4. Oct 18, 2009 #3

nicksauce

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper