1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Not sure where my research interests lie in undergrad?

1. Feb 14, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I am currently studying astrophysics in my undergrad. I am concerned with the fact that I do not know what field I want to explore during grad school yet. I am in my junior year and will probably finish my undergrad in five years due to double majoring in math as well. I realize I have huge interest in nuclear astrophysics and cosmology. While I currently am conducting research in nuclear astrophysics, I feel I may discover that my interests are in cosmology more. Would switching research interests in my undergrad be detrimental to grad school? I am concerned as some of my fellow classmates are dead set on what they wanted to do since entering university. I did not have this mindset as I wanted to explore my interests and now I feel I have narrowed my interests down to these two areas.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 14, 2015 #2

QuantumCurt

Education Advisor

Many students go into graduate school only having a very general idea of what they want to focus on for their graduate research. There's nothing at all wrong with switching research interests during undergrad, and in many cases it's even a very good thing. If you've been doing research in area x and ended up sticking with area x because it's what you started with...you may never find out that you like area y even more. It's good to have a broader exposure to the field in general.

4. Feb 14, 2015 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

You can even change your mind in grad school. I started out thinking I was going to do low-temperature physics, and ended up in experimental particle physics.

5. Feb 14, 2015 #4

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member