Order of operations - parenetheses

• Thread starter manjuvenamma
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Operations
In summary, the conversation discusses the use of parentheses in mathematical expressions and whether there is a better way to indicate the order of operations. The topic of prefix and postfix notation is brought up as an alternative, with the speaker reminiscing about learning about different types of brackets and their order of precedence. The main question is whether there is a more efficient way to indicate the order of operations.
manjuvenamma
Is there a better/different way of indicating the order of operations in a mathematical expression - other than using parentheses?

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Why? What's wrong with parentheses?

Ah, prefix and postfix notation. I remember when I took an intro to programming class as an undergrad, I had to write a program that converted from prefix/postfix to infix, in Pascal. That was fun. :biggrin:

Number Nine! Nothing wrong with brackets. Just curiosity. When I studied OOO when I was kid 40 years ago, I studied different types of brackets and their order of precedence. Now, no one uses all these types of brackets, just ordinary brackets with nesting as needed.

Just curiosity to know if there is an alternate and better way.

What is the purpose of parentheses in the order of operations?

The purpose of parentheses in the order of operations is to indicate which operations should be performed first. They are used to group numbers and operations together in an expression to make it clear which operations should be performed together.

What is the correct order of operations when parentheses are involved?

The correct order of operations when parentheses are involved is to first solve the operations inside the parentheses, starting from the innermost set of parentheses and working outwards. Then, perform any multiplication or division from left to right, followed by addition or subtraction from left to right.