1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

PGRE and application to grad schools

Tags:
  1. Dec 30, 2008 #1
    I am going to take GRE physics next October (or November). From what someone should begin with?

Are the 1st year textbooks (like Serway's) useful, or one should study all the stuff from the advanced undergraduate texts (Griffiths' e/m, Goldstein's classical mech., Shankar's quantum mech., etc)?

And the last question...
    I am an material science student. Could this be a disadvantage to my applications to physics and applied physics graduate schools? I have already pass e/m (from Griffiths), quantum mechanics (mainly from Shankar), optics (from Hecht), thermodynamics (From Atkins' physical chemistry), statistical mechanics , intro to condensed matter physics and intro to computational physics (notes) and the math: calculus I and II, complex calculus, probability theory, linear algebra, ODE and PDE. This semester I'll take classical mechanics (do I have actually time to prepare for it? :uhh:)

I'm doing research (already 6 months) on photonics and plasmonics (with 1 poster presentasion so far) and I want to do my phd on condensed matter physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 30, 2008 #2
    I don't think with your coursework (especially if you end up with two terms of classical mechanics, quantum, and e/m) that your application will suffer at all because of the label "materials science". You look to have strong math, which is also good.

Keep working on the research... a publication or two is GREAT for an application. Research experience shows you now what grad school is about.