1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Pharmacology graduate considering Medical Physics advice

1. Sep 2, 2007 #1
    Hello everybody. I graduated a few years ago with an MS in pharmacology. However, after two jobs where I did not get positions doing what I wanted to do, I am looking at what options I have for graduate school. For those of you who do not know the drug industry that well, you need to have a Phd/MD or PharmD (pharmacist degree) in order to get a respectable position. Otherwise, you are pretty much considered disposable in the job market. I have an interest in getting a PharmD, but it is limited as I not that strongly attracted to being a retail or clinical pharmacist that much. So to sum things up, I am basically looking for career options that are outside of the pharma/biotech world.

And thus, I stumbled across the world of medical physics, which seems to be a really interesting field utilizing analytical technologies. Since I'm working as a analytical chemist right now, I have to say that I am attracted to the thought of working with unique technologies, and I feel that I have the capability to handle this type of work. But at this time I am still researching the field to really see if it is worth it for me.