Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Phys graduates, do people assume you know more than you actually do?

1. Sep 6, 2014 #1
    I find that since graduating a lot of people assume you know everything about everything that uses/involves physics ever, from understanding how a light bulb works to knowing the complete inner workings of hydroelectric dams. Some questions are more convoluted than others, but can anyone here honestly say they can correctly apply knowledge from their degree to understand most modern technology?

I'm not sure whether I'm asking this question to the best of my ability, but I think it really boils down to this: Do people assume too much about the practical knowledge obtained from your degree?

Last edited: Sep 6, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 6, 2014 #2
    I'm only a second year physics student, but let me give you what I think.
    Its definitely true that you could probably go through your physics degree taking only a single practical physics course, and the rest consisting of all theory courses. In such a case, your practical knowledge would probably be minuscule. But as a physics major you could also lean towards a more applied spectrum taking signals/systems/time series analysis, electronics labs, more practical components dealing with equipment from neon-helium lasers to the workings of dc motors. So it goes both ways. Someone graduating from a physics degree may know just as much about technology as the person graduating from engineering. But it is often the case that this is not true (based on my own experience of people around me).

4. Sep 6, 2014 #3